Juanita PTSA Awards

Each year JHS PTSA looks for input from JHS staff, parents, students, and community. The PTSA seeks recommendations in identifying exceptional advocates and volunteers within our school community. Our annual JHS Awards Nominations process has closed for 2023. Check back here on June 1st to find out who is being recognized this year for their exceptional service! 

There are 5 Award categories that are presented to honorees at JHS (each is described in further details below):

  • Golden Acorn Award
  • Juanita Raven Spirit Award
  • Juanita Outstanding Citizen Award
  • Staff Member of the Year Award
  • Outstanding Student Advocate Award


Golden Acorn Award

The Golden Acorn Award is presented to an individual who has given outstanding volunteer service to all students and has demonstrated commitment to helping them achieve their potential, beyond what is recognized as part of a person’s responsibilities, duties of office or job. 

Recommendations should document how an individual has met the following criteria:

1. PTSA service

2. Service to the school

3. Community- service

Past Recipients:

Susan Vossler
Lynette Apley
Kristen Dorwin

Michelle Hamburg

For a full list of past Golden Acorn Recipients, click here.


Juanita Raven Spirit Award

The Juanita Raven Spirit Award is given to a parent/guardian or staff member who has been exceptionally professional in his/her performance and personally supportive to Juanita staff, students, and the community. Recommendations should show how the nominee displays true Raven Spirit!

Past Recipients:

Rosa Cortes
Jennifer Hamilton
Lourdes Hernandez

Lynette Apley

 For a full list of past Raven Spirit Award Recipients, click here.


Juanita Outstanding Citizen Award

Juanita Outstanding Citizen Award is given to a parent/guardian or community member for continued and dedicated service at Juanita High School. In determining eligibility for this award, the person’s volunteer efforts should be considered in all areas of the school’s programs including PTSA and other activities.

Past Recipients:

Terri Gatts Dayton
Susan Baird-Joshi
Michelle Rocamora

Terri Gatts Dayton

For a full list of past Outstanding Citizen Award Recipients, click here.


Staff Member of the Year Award

The Staff Member of the Year Award is presented to the staff member who goes out of his or her way, beyond regular duties to help all students at Juanita through educational support.

Past Recipients:


Steve Bennett (Social Studies)
Ben Hullinger (Math)
Leslie Campos (English)
Greg Shelton (CTE)

 For a full list of past Staff Member of the Year Award Recipients, click here.


Outstanding Student Advocate Award

The Outstanding Student Advocate Award recognizes and honors a student for advocacy, leadership, and service on behalf of all children and youth.

Past Recipients:

Holland Hurley
Rachel Vannoy

Thandi Dayton (Equity and Inclusion)

For a full list of past Outstanding Student Advocate Award Recipients, click here.